The Five Pillars of Literacy

All of our staff have had the opportunity to engage in professional learning around the following five pillars: 

  1. Phonemic Awareness 

  2. Phonics

  3. Fluency

  4. Vocabulary

  5. Strategies for Comprehension 

Part of this has been through Lakeland Catholic's partnership with the University of Alberta and Dr. George Georgiou.